And I'm done with uni

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

And I'm done with uni

Just handed in my last major essay and I'm pretty much finished, just got a reflective report to do which will take about 2 hours to write max. Have to admit I'm kind of sad that it's finally over, 3 years is a long slog and I met some great people along the way. Now I just need to figure out what I'm doing next. Anyone else feel the same way after finishing uni? What did you guys do afterwards?

I had a few bevvies, worked in an office for the summer, then went back to do an MA.

Comment

I think I just felt relieved, regretted few things more than going to it

Comment

I'm so sorry. The real world sucks.

I'm 2 years into an after degree BSc in pure math, with another 2 years part time minimum before that's done, then hopefully 2 years of teacher training and a move back to Japan if there's a job there.

Comment

I got a job working in Currys for a bit then I've been a software developer ever since

Comment

As long as you remember that what you studied at Uni isn't the same as what you learned at Uni, you'll be great. What you do to earn money can be completely different.

Comment

Well I had two experiences. The first was me finished with Uni because I dropped out. Yay! That was followed by genuine relief because I knew what I was doing wasn't for me and I had a much better idea of something to aim for. The second experience was finishing a very lowly college but it was awesome because I trained directly for the working world and I couldn't even make my last day because I was working happily so I never had that abrupt finish - I went smoothly into the real world.

It was only years later that I really appreciated how fortunate I was with that. Many people who were in that first Uni course with me and saw it through to the end actually ended up a bit lost afterwards and found themselves retraining in other areas. That really comes down to what Charles wrote.