These are turned off.
They are a way of setting up your own discussion groups, with options for only allowing people to see the contents after they request to join.
I can't really see the point in them - visibility is very low (accessed via the community button in the navbar, with updates appearing the activity stream) and apart from the content lock, everything else (subscribe etc) could be achieved with a normal thread.

Anyone have any thoughts?